10 leading goal scorers in the FIFA World Cup history


Miroslav Klose

Playing in four editions of the World Cup (2002, 2006, 2010, and 2014), Miroslav Klose sits atop the FIFA World Cup all-time top goal-scorer list with 16 goals, in 24 games with the last coming aged 36.

Ronaldo Nazario

Ronaldo reached the epitome of his success when he led Brazil to their fifth World Cup triumph in 2002 by defeating Germany in the final. The legendary striker holds 15 goals to his name in 19 matches.

Gerd Muller

Gerd Muller is regarded as one of the most prolific goal scorers ever produced as he scored 14 goals over just two World Cups. Ten of them came in 1970 to Mexico with the help of two hat tricks.

Just Fontaine

Just Fontaine made himself one of the greatest strikers France ever produced despite participating in just one World Cup scoring a surprising 13 goals in just six appearances in the 1958 edition.


Among the most iconic figures of the game, Pele scored 12 goals in 14 matches helping Brazil with three FIFA World Cups in 1958, 1962, and 1970.

Jurgen Klinsmann

Jurgen Klinsmann requires no introduction as the German sniper, who scored goals in galore for West Germany and then Germany scoring a combined 11 goals in three editions of the game.

Sandor Kocsis

Hungarian great Sandor Kocsis, on the other hand, scored all his 11 goals in the 1954 World Cup, which included two hat-tricks. He went on to score in all the games except in the final against Germany.

Gabriel Batistuta

The legendary Argentine Gabriel Batistuta has 10 goals to his name and went on a fine run for his team however, couldn’t win the coveted cup for his side.

Gary Lineker and Thomas Muller

Gary Lineker from England and the German legend Thomas Muller who is the only man active in the game on the list make up the 9th and 10th spots with 10 goals each for their teams.