The 39th edition of India’s prestigious Indian Oil SERVO Surjit Hockey Tournament will be held here at the local Surjit hockey stadium, Burlton Park from October 27 to November 4.

According to Jaspreet Singh, IAS, the President of the renowned Surjit Hockey Society that the tournament is organized every year by the Society to keep the name of Sardar Surjit Singh Randhawa, an ex-Olympian alive, who lost his life in a fatal car accident near Jalandhar on January 7th, 1984, while fighting hard for the upliftment of the National Game of Hockey in our Country.

Jaspreet Singh who is also the Deputy Commissioner of Jalandhar informed that the 39th edition of the tournament would be played on knockout-cum-league basis.

Keeping in view the performance of teams during the last tournament, 6 teams have been seeded directly into the quarter-finals league stage whereas 2 teams will qualify from knockout stage matches.

The top 4 teams from each pool will qualify for the Semifinals, scheduled to be held on November 3. No gate money will be charged from the spectators who will come to witness the game of hockey, Jaspreet Singh added.

Jaspreet Singh further informed that the winning team will get a cash prize of Rs. 5.00 lakhs whereas the runners-up team will be pocketed Rs. 2.50 lakhs. As in the past, the best player in the tournament will get a cash prize of Rs. 51,000.

As many as 16 top teams of the country, including Last champion Indian Railways, New Delhi & Runners Punjab & Sind Bank, Delhi along-with Punjab Police, Indian Navy Mumbai, ASC Bangalore, IndianOil, Mumbai, Indian Air Force New Delhi, Punjab National Bank Delhi, Army-XI New Delhi, BSF Jalandhar, CRPF New Delhi, EME Jalandhar, Army (Green), Bangalore, RCF, Kapurthala, CRPF New Delhi, and CAG New Delhi will exhibit their skills in this 9 days long hockey bonanza.

The Chief Minister of Punjab Mr. Bhagwantaan Charanjit would give away the prizes to the finalist and Mr. Gurmeet Singh Meet Hayre, Sports Minister, Punjab would preside over the function whereas Mr. Jatinder Kumar, Executive Director, IOCL will be the Guest of Honour during the final day of the tournament, scheduled for November 5, Jaspreet Singh added.

Box item :

# winner team will get a cash prize of Rs. 5.00 lakhs whereas the runners-up team will be pocketed Rs. 2.50 lakhs. The Best Player in the Tournament will get a cash award of Rs. 51,000.

# 16 top teams of the country including the last champion Indian Railways & Runners up Punjab & Sind Bank along-with 14 teams will exhibit their skills during this 9 days hockey bonanza.

Editors Choice