New Delhi, Jan 6 (UNI) The Centre has formed a nine-member high level committee (HLC) to look into the implementation of clause six of Assam accord which was signed on August 15,1985.

The clause six of Assam Accord states: "Constitutional, legislative and administrative safeguards, as may be appropriate, shall be provided to protect, preserve and promote the cultural, social, linguistic identity and heritage of the Assamese people".

According to a notification from the Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) on Saturday, the HLC, headed by a retired civil servant MP Bezbaruah, will submit its report within six months from the date of notification.

The Committee will examine the effectiveness of actions taken since 1985 to implement Clause six of the Assam Accord.

The panel will hold discussions with various stakeholders including social organisations, legal and constitutional experts, eminent persons from the field of art and culture, literature, conservationists, economists, linguists and sociologists.

The HCL will assess the appropriate level of reservation of seats in Assam Legislative Assembly and local bodies for the Assamese people and  also suggest measures to be taken to protect Assamese and other indigenous languages of Assam.
The Committee will recommend the appropriate level of reservations in employment under the Government of Assam for the Assamese people and may suggest any other measures as may be necessary to protect, preserve and promote cultural, social, linguistic identity and heritage of the Assamese people.

The Committee will be serviced by the North East Division of MHA.
The  Assam Government is asked to  provide necessary administrative and logistic support to the Committee.
Apart from Mr Bezbaruah, former IAS Subhash Das, former Presidents of  Assam Sahitya Sabha Dr Nagen Saikia and Rongbong Terang, former  editor of The Sentinel  Dhiren Bezbaruah, educationalist Dr Mukunda Rajbangshi, Assam Advocate General Ramesh Borpatragohain and one representative of All Assam Students' Union are members of this Committee.
The Joint Secretary of  MHA  will be Member Secretary  of this committee.

You Might Also Like

Editors Choice