Battle for Hoshiarpur: Can Anita Som Prakash secure a 3rd consecutive victory for BJP or will Cong & AAP play spoilsport?

Always a home to tight battles, this year's Lok-Sabha elections will present a 4-way battle between the major political parties.

Hoshiarpur-Lok-Sabha-Battle, Lok-Sabha-Elections-2024, Elections-2024, India-General-Elections-2024, Lok Sabha Election 2024, India, Punjab-Elections-2024, Punjab-Lok-Sabha, Anita-Som-Prakash, Raj-Kumar-Chabbewal, Yamini-Gomar, Sohan-Singh-Thandal, Som-Prakash-Wife | Battle for Hoshiarpur: Can Anita Som Prakash secure a 3rd consecutive victory for BJP or will Cong & AAP play spoilsport?- True Scoop

The reserved Lok Sabha seat of Hoshiarpur has always been a coveted seat with tight battles in elections. Not only this, the results always end up with a miniscule margin of vote difference between the candidates. This year is no different as a tight 4-way battle is brewing as Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) are contesting the elections solo. The seat, which at one point was tradition considered to be Congress’, has been witness to BJP’s victory over the past 2 Lok Sabha elections. This year, BJP will be looking to secure a third consecutive victory, without the support of Akali Dal, who will be fielding their own candidate. Not only this, AAP will be contesting a Congress turncoat who holds strong influence in the constituency. All of this is likely to culminate in another tight battle for the Lok Sabha (LS) seat in Hoshiarpur.


BJP looking for a hat-trick by putting their hopes behind sitting MP’s wife

The Hoshiarpur reserved Lok Sabha Constituency currently has BJP’s Som Parkash as its elected Member Parliament (MP). Som Parkash is also the Central Minister of State for Commerce and Industry of India. In this year’s elections, following Som Parkash abstinence from the elections, the saffron party is putting their hopes behind Som Parkash’s wife, Anita Som Parkash. Som Prakash holds significant influence in the constituency and is likely to carry out massive rallies in support of Anita Som Parkash. BJP still has a good chance of victory this year as sources say that as per BJP’s internal survey, Som Parkash is favoured in the constituency thanks to his work.


The Hoshiarpur constituency has been traditionally BJP’s stronghold, which has held major influence in four of its legislative assembly constituencies, which includes Dasuya, Mukerian, Phagwara and Hoshiarpur. BJP also enjoys voter support in the constituency thanks to its proximity to Himachal Pradesh. However, it is pertinent to note that since 1998, BJP has fought the elections in Punjab in alliance with SAD.


Congress looking to re-establish supremacy

The Hoshiarpur LS seat was traditionally considered to be Congress’ before 2004. But after BJP leader Avinash Rai Khanna’s victory, the constituency has been in BJP’s account. In an attempt to secure victory, Congress will be contesting AAP turncoat Yamini Gomar, who had contested the 2014 polls from Hoshiarpur as the AAP nominee and stood third losing to BJP’s Vijay Sampla.


Having remained a member of the AAP national executive, she had quit the party in 2016 alleging dictatorial attitude of the party. Gomar had then joined the Congress but had remained politically inactive in all these seven years.


AAP fields a Congress turncoat:

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) announced ex-MLA and Congress turncoat Raj Kumar Chabbewal as their candidate for the Lok Sabha seat in Hoshiarpur. Chabbewal is a prominent Dalit leader and left Congress to join AAP in March this year. The 54-year-old represented the Chabbewal assembly constituency in Hoshiarpur district. He was the deputy leader of opposition in the Punjab Assembly.


Akali Dal looking to contest solo for the first time since 1998


BJP and Akali Dal will be locking horns for the first time in nearly 25 years for the Lok Sabha seat in Hoshiarpur. However, while Congress and AAP are also fielding strong candidates, political experts say that SAD contesting their candidate is likely to harm BJP the most. SAD will be contesting former cabinet minister and ex-MLA, Sohan Singh Thandal.


2014 Lok Sabha elections winner in Hoshiarpur, Vijay Sampla was reportedly unhappy with not getting the ticket. As per reports, BJP state chief Sunil Jakhar and Gujarat ex-CM Vijay Rupani had tried to convince Sampla to not turn allegiances. Sources also suggest that SAD Supremo Sukhbir Badal wanted to induct Sampla into the party to contest him as SAD’s candidate, however the ex-MP refused his offer.


Hoshiarpur Lok Sabha Candidates for Elections 2024:

AAP: Raj Kumar Chabbewal

BJP: Anita Som Prakash

Congress: Yamini Gomar

Shiromani Akali Dal: Sohan Singh Thandal


Previous winners:

2009: Santokh Chaudhary (Congress)

2014: Vijay Sampla (BJP)

2019: Som Parkash (BJP)



Constituency Total Polling Stations Male  Females Transgender Total Voters
Hoshiarpur 1963 826679 766296 43 1593018