A great for Aam Aadmi Party today as for the first time the party has won Panjab University Students’ Union Election. From the student wing of the Aam Aadmi Party named Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh, Ayush Khatkar has been elected as the President as he secured a total of 2712 votes. It has been a big defeat for the opposition NSUI and ABVP. 21 students candidates stood for election for all the significant posts that include President, Vice-President, General Secretary and Joint Secretary. Along with Ayush, Parvesh Bishnoi of INSO won the post of secretary.

Normally, the elections of the students’ union always take place in the month of September but this time they are being held in October. Due to the holidays and students going home, less number voting compared to last year was expected. Reportedly, during the elections, tight security was maintained outside and inside the college premises. The elections were held in nine colleges.

Isha Moudgil of Guru Gobind Singh College for Women, Sector 26, has been elected as the President resident. Along with Isha, Taranjit Kaur was elected as Vice President, Soni of as Secretary and Tanisha Sethi as Joint Secretary. All these candidates were congratulated by the Principal of the college for the big win. College principal Jatinder Kaur congratulated the newly appointed winners.

At SD College, Gurbaj Singh of soi party defeated Hrithik, son of BJP leader Pappu Shukla, and was elected the President. Gurbaj Singh secured 2072 votes. Apart from this, Pragat Singh, a candidate from CISF, has become the president of Sri Guru Gobind Singh College in Sector 26. Himanshu Arora of SIO has also bagged the president's post at PGGC, Sector 11. Gautam Sahota has become the president of Government College 46.

Sheenam Rawat of MCM DAV, Shahista in Sector 36 and Isha Moudgil at Guru Gobind Singh College for Women, Sector 26 have been elected as Presidents at Post Graduate Government College for Girls, Sector 42.

The information that has been revealed stated that 169 polling booths were set up in Panjab University and was held in a total of 78 departments.

Punjab CM, Bhawant Mann also congratulated all the winners through his Twiiter handle.

Editors Choice