Faridkot records 36.82% turnout by midday; Rural constituencies see the highest voter percentage

Punjab CM Bhagwant Mann's close friend Karmjit Anmol is contesting for AAP, facing off against BJP's Hans Raj Hans, and Sarbjit Singh Khalsa, son of Beant Singh, Indira Gandhi's killer

Lok Sabha Election 2024, Punjab, Trending, Lok Sabha Elections, Lok Sabha Elections 2024, Punjab Lok Sabha Elections, Lok Sabha Elections Lat Voting Day, Lok Sabha Elections of Punjab, Punjab Lok Sabha Election Voting Percentage, Punjab LS Polls Voters Turnout, Faridkot Voters Turnout, Faridkot Voting Percentage Lok Sabha, Faridkot Voters Turnout LS Polls 2024, Faridkot Lok Sabha Elections, Hans Raj Hans, Karamjit Anmol, Rajwinder Singh, Amarjeet Kaur Sahoke- True Scoop

The Lok Sabha Elections concluded on 1st June 2024. Punjab witnessed the voting for 13 Lok Sabha seats of Punjab and the sole seat of Chandigarh today. Faridkot is high profile due to three candidates, AAP’s Karamjit Anmol, BJP’s Hans Raj Hans and independent candidate Sarbjit Singh  Khalsa. Sarbjit Singh Khalsa is the son of Beant Singh, infamous for the assassination of Indira Gandhi. Meanwhile, Karmjit Anmol is a close aide of Punjab CM Bhagwant Mann. Faridkot records 36.82% by midday.

The rural Gidderbaha constituency is recording the highest with 43.20 % which is a constituency with a hardliners’ influency. Rampura Phul recorded 41.30% turnout while Jaitu recorded 41.70% turnout. Moga recorded the lowest voter turnout at 27.30 %.  The Lok Sabha Elections 2024 results will be announced on 4th June.

In 2019, Faridkot saw a total of 63.23 % voter turnout. 

Punjab CM Bhagwant Mann is banking on Faridkot’s seat as his very close friend Karamjit Anmol is contesting for elections. Karamjit Anmol Singh is a famous Punjabi actor, singer, and comedian. Despite having other suitable candidates who were close to CM Mann, he placed his bets on Karamjit Anmol. Winning the Faridkot seat is quite significant for Aam Aadmi Party. Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) made the fight more interesting by announcing famous singer Hans Raj Hans as its candidate. Talking about Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), the party has chosen Rajwinder Singh to contest the upcoming assembly elections.

For the unversed, it was in 1997 that the BJP formed an alliance with SAD and till 2019 they contested elections together. Post 2019, this was the first time that BJP and SAD contested solo in an assembly election.

Faridkot has in total 1688 polling stations. The constituency consists of 834493 males, 744363 females and 81 transgenders making a total of 746286 voters.