Khadoor Sahib records 37.76% turnout by midday; Zira, Patti sees higher percentage likely due to THIS reason

The Khadoor Sahib is one of the high profile seats as jailed radical Sikh preacher Amritpal is also contesting the elections here.

Lok Sabha Election 2024, Punjab, Trending, Lok Sabha Elections 2024, Punjab Elections 2024, Lok Sabha Elections Punjab voter turnout, Elections Punjab voters, Khadoor Sahib Voter Turnout Punjab 2024, Khadoor Sahib election voter turnout, Manjit Singh Manna, Laljit Singh Bhullar, Virsa Singh valtoha, Kulbir Singh Zira, Amritpal Singh- True Scoop

Polling for Lok Sabha Elections 2024 came to an end on June 1 during the seventh phase of polling. In this polling occurred in all 13 constituencies of Punjab. In Khadoor Sahib, which is a predominantly a Panthak seat, khalistani vote is likely to matter a lot. 37.76% percent voters came out to exercise their right to vote by 1 PM. Talking about the assembly constituencies, constituency of Congress candidate Kulbir Singh Zira, Zira, recorded the highest percentage at 43.00 %. At second place comes Sultanpur Lodhi, which is predominantly a Panthak area.

The battles likely seems to be a duel between Congress and Amritpal as the Patti constituency also recorded a relatively higher turnout with 39.07 %. Congress strongholds, Kapurthala, Sultanpur Lodhi and Zira saw some of the highest voter turnouts.

In 2019, 64.03% of the total voters had cast their vote. Of these, 63.45% of male electors cast their vote, 64.69% of female electors cast their vote and 10.69% of transgender electors cast their vote.

The contestants for the Lok Sabha seat in Khadoor Sahib include Manjit Singh Manna for Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Laljit Singh Bhullar for Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Virsa Singh Valtoha for Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), and Kulbir Singh Zira for Congress.

In Khadoor Sahib, the jailed radical sikh preacher and Waris Punjab De Chief, Amritpal Singh is also contesting the elections. Amritpal, who was incarcerated in Assam’s Dibrugarh Jail under National Security Act (NSA), will be contesting the elections independently. However, Amritpal is poised to put up a challenge for the major parties as Sri Khadoor Sahib is a predominantly a Panthak seat. Experts say that it is likely to be a tight contest for first between Amritpal and AAP’s Laljit Singh Bhullar.

In 2019, Jasbir Singh Gill Dimpa had secured the victory for Congress with 43.9% of the votes. He defeated SAD’s candidate and former president of Shiromani Gurudwara Prabandhak Committee (SGPC), Bibi Jagir Kaur. Prior to 2019 however, Khadoor Sahib has been a SAD stronghold with Ranjit Singh Brahmpura securing a seat in 2019 and Dr. Rattan Singh Ajnala securing the victory in 2009. Brahmpura had secured a victory over SAD-Amritsar’s Simranjit Singh Mann, who secured victory in the 2022 by-elections in Sangrur.

The 2024 parliamentary elections saw polling across 1,974 polling booths across the state. There are a total of 1655468 electors in Khadoor Sahib out of which 8,70,337 are males, 7,85,067 are female and 64 are transgender.