#KnowYourVote: Congress, AAP & SAD gear up for a fight as BJP eyes Punjab LS seat at Sri Anandpur Sahib

In the three contests held here, Congress has secured the victory twice with SAD winning once

Punjab Trending Lok Sabha Elections 2024

Sri Anandpur Sahib was declared a Lok Sabha Constituency in 2009 following the implementation of delimitation of parliamentary and assembly constituencies in 2008. In the three contests held here, Congress has secured the victory twice with SAD winning once. In the 2019 elections, Manish Tiwari secured the victory with Congress, but sources inform that he is likely to shift to another constituency in order to contest the elections this year.


With Tiwari likely to contest elsewhere, it is highly likely for Ludhiana MP Ravneet Bittu to contest the elections here for Congress as per sources with Rana KP Singh also a likely candidate. Repeating the victory of 2019 is likely to be a big challenge for Congress. Sources say that BJP is also in favour of contesting for this Lok Sabha seat, even if the alliance with SAD comes into fruition.


As for their candidates, BJP District President Ajayveer Lalpura and BJP State Vice President Subhash Sharma are in discussion. It is pertinent to note that Ajayveer Lalpura’s father, Igbal Singh Lalpura is on the BJP’s Parliamentary and Election Board, and is the first Sikh member. BJP is likely to contest these elections due to some Hindu assembly constituencies of the area. Ajayveer Lalpura is an active politician for the BJP and the party’s face for the youth. However, the recent upheaval with the farmers is likely to be a thorn in the party’s side.


From AAP, Deepak Bali and Malvinder Singh Kang are in discussion to contest the elections. AAP beat the other teams, announcing the first list of 8 candidates out of 13 Lok Sabha seats, with 5 candidates likely to be announced in the next 5 days. Sri Anandpur Sahib’s candidate is yet to be announced. From SAD, former MP Prem Singh Chandumajra and Dr. Daljit Singh Cheema are in discussion.


Previous Winners:





Ravneet Singh Bittu

Indian National Congress


Prem Singh Chandumajra

Shiromani Akali Dal


Manish Tewari

Indian National Congress



Issues in Sri Anandpur Sahib that need to addressed:


  • The matter of filling eight hundred posts of Punjab quota in Bhakra Beas Management Board (BBMB) remained in abeyance.
  • Efforts to make BBMB workshops employable again remained on hold.
  • Swan River could not be channelized. Like every year, this year too the villages of Rupnagar will have to bear the brunt of floods.
  • The work of converting the two-lane road of National Highway Extension 503 between Nangal and Ganguwal to four lanes could not be completed.
  • The demand to connect Nawanshahr with Khanna and Samrala through railway is still pending.


Manish Tiwari:

Age: 58

Parliamentary Attendence: 95%

Parliamentary Funds spent: 80.77%

Manish Tiwari was elected Lok Sabha member from Sri Anandpur Sahib for the second time in 2019. He has also been the Union Minister of Information and Broadcasting. Earlier in the year 2009, he had won the Lok Sabha elections from Ludhiana. In his political career, he first became the President of the National Student Union of India. He was also the National Secretary of Congress and handled the responsibilities given by the party in many states. He has been the national spokesperson of the Congress Committee since 2000. He was also the National President of Youth Congress.


In 2019, Tiwari had defeated SAD’s Prem Singh Chandumajra with 4,27,955 votes over Chandumajra’s 3,81,161 votes. Chandumajra had secured the victory in the prior elections.


Polling Constituency Polling Stations Males Females Transgender Total
Anandpur Sahib 2066 893567 817627 61 1711255