#KnowYourVote: Gurdaspur a tough field for BJP as AAP & Congress gear up for a duel

This year could be a rough one for the BJP as their current MP, Sunny Deol, had announced his abstinence from the elections this year.

Punjab Trending KnowYourVote

The Lok Sabha constituency of Gurdaspur was one of the few constituencies of Punjab where BJP contested their MP in alliance with SAD for the LS seat, others being Amritsar and Hoshiarpur. However, this year could be a rough one for the Bharatiya Janata Party as their current MP, Sunny Deol, had announced his abstinence from the elections this year.


Due to this, it is likely to be a duel between the Aam Aadmi Party & Congress. Although Shiromani Akali Dal will be fielding their contestants as well after a long abstinence due to the lack of an alliance, which will present a tough challenge for the party.


Since the year 1998, the star players of BJP have clinched victory in this constituency. With congress players having secured the victory only in the 2009 elections and 2017 by-elections. Among the possible Congress candidates, the names of Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa, Barindermeet Singh Pahra, Baljit Singh Pahra and Charanjit Kaur Bajwa are in discussion.  The names of Kavita Khanna, Ashwini Sharma, Dinesh Babbu, Ashok Vaid and Paramjit Singh Gill from BJP are included in the list of probable players who face a tough challenge following current MP Sunny Deol’s refusal to contest in the elections.


However, it is likely that in case of an alliance with SAD, BJP could elect another celebrity for the Lok Sabha seat, with Aam Aadmi Party likely to follow suit according to experts. In another case, it is important to note that a Hindu face has been securing victory in this constituency, making Raman Bahl a strong contender from AAP. 


From AAP, Raman Bahl along with Dr. KD Singh, Jagroop Sekhwa, and Jasbir Jassi are in discussion. At present the party does not have any such face who has influence among the people of the entire constituency. The names of Gurbachan Singh Babehali, Lakhbir Singh Lodhinangal and Sucha Singh Chhotepur are in discussion from SAD, who will be stepping into the field solo after a long time.


In the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections, BJP candidate and film star Sunny Deol had won the seat for the first time with a margin of 82,459 votes. He was polled 5,58,719 votes with a vote share of 50.58%. He defeated Congress candidate Sunil Jakhar who got 4,76,260 votes (43.12%). The total number of valid votes polled was 11,03,887.


Previous Winners:

Year  Winner Party
2004 Vinod Khanna BJP
2009 Pratap Singh Bajwa Congress
2014 Vinod Khanna BJP
2017 (By-elections) Sunil Jakhar Congress
2019 Sunny Deol BJP


Issues in Gurdaspur:


Batala Industry Project in limbo:

The MP did not pay any attention to the matter of renovating Batala’s once lucrative Steel industry and restarting the Dhariwal Woolen Mills. People can get a lot of employment if Dhariwal Mill is started, but due to issue not being raised in the Parliament, this project could not take off. The MP had however, managed to get the long overdue salaries of the Wooden Mills employees.


'Sem' (waterlogging) Problem:

One lakh acres of land in Bet area of ​​Gurdaspur is suffering from a waterlogging problem due to which, crops are not being grown properly. ‘Sem’ (Waterlogging) is an issue where groundwater rises up and the ground becomes soggy.


Not serious on rail link project:

Qadian-Beas Railway Line project was not taken seriously. Due to non-connection of Qadian railway station with Beas rail track, people have to travel 100 kilometers to Amritsar.


Constituency Polling Stations Male Female Transgender Total
Gurdaspur 1895 844299 750965 36 1595300