#KnowYourVote: Is Akali Dal likely to lose the 6 win-streak in Firozpur due to ‘no BJP alliance’?

Sukhbir Badal won in the 2019 elections, which was the sixth consecutive win for Shiromani Akali Dal

Punjab Trending Youth

The Firozepur Constituency has seen six victories in a row for Akali Dal candidates with Sukhbir Badal being the latest victor in the 2019 elections. Before SAD’s dominant performance however, Bahujan Samaj party had won twice in 1992 and 1996, with Mohan Singh being elected both times. However, while Badal had won the previous elections, the previous 2 elections were won by Sher Singh Ghubaya, while Zora Singh Maan won three consecutive times, giving Shiromani Akali Dal 6 consecutive wins in a row.


This year however could result in a tough challenge for SAD if the BJP-SAD alliance does not happen. After the breaking of the alliance, Sukhbir Badal has been unable to get major work done in the area, which has resulted in some resentment from the voters. Apart from this, one the party’s major drawback has been a lack of ample public relations, as Sukhbir Badal has been making less public appearances, which further invited the ire of the voters.


This time in elections the names of Sukhbir Badal and Harsimrat Kaur Badal are in discussion among the SAD players. Names of Rana Gurmeet Singh Sodi, Sunil Jakhar, and Surjeet Jyani from BJP are included among the possible players. Both Sodi and Jakhar have joined BJP after leaving Congress. Hence, if any of these two get the ticket, they may have to face opposition from the local BJP cadre.


The names of former Congress MLA from Firozpur urban area Parminder Singh Pinki and former MLA from Jalalabad, Raminder Awla are in discussion. Their biggest weakness is that they are not recognized much in other areas except their assembly constituency. The names of Gurbej Singh Malout and Angrez Singh, resident of Mamdot, Firozpur, are coming out from AAP, however, political sources also suggest that Raminder Awla is likely to switch allegiances from Congress to AAP. Gurbej Singh and Angrez Singh are both fresh faces for the people of Firozpur hence not being recognized would have been a big challenge. Hence if Raminder Awla makes the switch, he could likely get the ticket.  


Previous Winners:





Mohan Singh

Bahujan Samaj Party



Zora Singh Maan

Shiromani Akali Dal




Sher Singh Ghubaya



Sukhbir Singh Badal


Sukhbir Badal information:

Party: Shiromani Akali Dal

Self Profession: Politician & Agriculturist

Spouse Profession: Union Minister Food & Processing (Govt. Of India)

Declaration in  Constituency Age Party Code Criminal Cases Number of Cases Education Level Total Assets (Rs.) Total Liabilities (Rs.) PAN Given
(Y or N)
Punjab 2022 Jalalabad 59 SAD Yes 7 Post Graduate 2,02,64,27,815
~ 202 Crore+
~ 66 Crore+
Lok Sabha 2019 Firozpur 56 SAD Yes 4 Post Graduate 2,17,99,19,870
~ 217 Crore+
~ 95 Crore+
Punjab 2017 Jalalabad 54 SAD No 0 Post Graduate 1,02,07,61,522
~ 102 Crore+
~ 39 Crore+
Punjab 2012 Jalalabad 49 SAD Yes 1 Post Graduate 90,86,01,691
~ 90 Crore+
~ 31 Crore+

Source: myneta.info


Issues to be tackled in Firozpur:

  • Opening of Hussainiwala border for trade is a big demand of the area residents. With the opening of the border, business and employment opportunities will also develop here.
  • The Belt and Road Link Railway has been pending for a long time. If the track is laid, the distance from Firozpur to Amritsar will be reduced.
  • Kinnow is cultivated on a large scale in Abohar and Fazilka. There is also a demand to set up a food processing plant so that farmers get full price for their crops.
  • Building a medical college is also a main demand. Due to lack of high level health services, people here have to go to other cities.
  • There is a need to establish training centers to free the youth from drug addiction and make them eligible for recruitment in the army or police.


Constituency Polling Stations Male Female Transgender Total
Firozpur 1902 873684 783402 45 1657131