Punjab CM’s constituency Sangrur sees 26.26 % voter turnout by 11 AM in Lok Sabha 2024 polls

CM Bhagwant Mann's constituency is also seeing a higher voter percentage in the rural areas, with Dirba recording the highest percentage, while Sangrur city records the lowest.

Lok Sabha Election 2024, Punjab, Trending, Lok Sabha Elections 2024, Punjab Elections 2024, Lok Sabha Elections Punjab voter turnout, Elections Punjab voters, Sangrur Voter Turnout Punjab 2024, Sangrur election voter turnout, Sangrur Voter Turnout 2024, Punjab Elections update 2024, Sangrur Voter turnout update 2024, Arvind Khanna, Meet Hayer, Iqbal Singh Jhoonda, Sukhpal Khaira- True Scoop

The seventh phase of Lok Sabha elections saw pollingacross 54 constituencies in 8 states/UTs in India on June 1. It included all 13 parliamentary constituencies in Punjab. In Punjab’s Sangrur constituency, a voter turnout of 26.26 % was seen by 11 AM. Sangrur also the higher voter turnout in the rural area of Dirba, 29.20 % while the lowest was seen in Sangrur city, 22.88 %.

In the 2019 polls, which saw a 72.44% voter turnout, one of the highest among all the constituencies.

The 2024 Lok Sabha elections in the Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann’s constituency, Sangur, sees Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Arvind Khann, Aam Aadmi Party’s (AAP) Gurmeet Singh Meet Hayer, Shiromani Akali Dal’s (SAD) Iqbal Singh Hoonda, Congress’ Sukhpal Khaira, and the sitting MP SAD-Amritsar’s, Simranjit Singh Mann battling it out for the Lok Sabha seat. 

In the 2019 and 2014 Lok Sabha elections, CM Bhagwant Mann had secured the victory. However, following his appointment as the Chief Minister, AAP lost the seat to SAD-Amritsar’s Simranjit Singh Mann in the 2022 by-elections, who defeated his nearest rival, AAP’s Gurmail Singh by a margin of over 5,800 votes. Simranjit Singh Mann had also been the elected Member Parliament from the Sangrur constituency in 1999. Vijay Inder Singla, had won the Lok Sabha seat from Sangrur in 2009 for Congress.

In the 2024 parliamentary elections, Punjab’s Sangrur saw polling in 1,765 polling stations across the constituency. Of the 15,50,017 electors, 8,20,879 were male, 7,29,092 were female, and 46 were transgender.