For Advertising Enquiries,Contact us at

Punjab government is all set to have its third Director General of Police (DGP) in three months. The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) had conducted a meeting in New Delhi to empanel the officers for the DGP position. The Punjab government meanwhile is maintaining silence on the issue. 

The names which are given for the panel are former Punjab DGP Dinkar Gupta, VK Bhawra, and Prabodh Kumar. While Gupta and Bhawra are Indian Police Services officers of the 1987 batch, Prabodh Kumar is from the 1988 batch.

Why Bhavra? 
However, Dinkar and Prabodh are going on deputation to the center. In such a situation, Bhavra will be the only contender and it is possible that under his leadership, Punjab Police will conduct the next assembly elections. VK Bhavra has also conducted elections in Punjab as ADGP in the year2019. 
Currently, in the Punjab Elections, the officers of Punjab Police are in discussion about their closeness to political parties and especially to the current government.

Why was Chattopadhyay name not included?
Chattopadhyay is unable to fulfill the condition due to the sending of the names from October 5 onwards for 6 months. 
He will be retiring on 31st March 2022. 
Sources also say Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi and Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu want the incumbent DGP, Siddharth Chattopadhyaya, to stay on for two years.


For Advertising Enquiries,Contact us at

You Might Also Like