11% of Punjab Lok Sabha Candidates 2024 have criminal cases registered against them, full list inside

Aam Aadmi Party has 6, BJP 3, BSP 4, SAD 6 and Congress has 3 candidates with criminal cases on them. 

Lok-sabha-elections, lok-sabha-elections-punjab, lok-sabha-election-punjab-candidates, LS-candidates-with-criminal-cases, LS-punjab-candidates-with-criminal-cases, how-many-ls-candidates-with-criminal-cases, Lok Sabha Election 2024, Punjab- True Scoop

On Monday 598 nominations were filed in Punjab for upcoming Lok Sabha Elections 2024. The scrutiny of all the filings will take place on 15th May 2024. All the candidates from BJP, SAD, AAP and Congress presented their affidavits in which they mentioned whether any criminal cases were filed against them or not. In almost every constituency, there are more than 4 candidates who have criminal cases registered against them.

Hoshiarpur is the only constituency in Punjab that has not even a single candidate with registered criminal cases. Some of the known candidates like Gurmeet Meet Hayer, Ravneet Bittu, and Pawan Kumar Tinu are also included in the list. As per analysis, AAP has 6, BJP 3, BSP 4, SAD 6 and Congress has 3 candidates with criminal cases on them. 

Talking about each constituency, Amritsar has a total of 5 candidates with criminal cases, Anandpur Sahib also has 5, Bathinda with 6, Faridkot with only 2 whereas Fategarh Sahib has only one. Adding to this, Firozpur has 9, Gurdaspur has 5, Jalandhar-6, Khadoor Sahib- 7, Ludhiana- 8, Patiala-5 and Sangrur has in total of 8 candidates with registered criminal cases. 

List of Punjab Lok Sabha 2024 candidates with criminal cases registered against them 

Name of candidate Constituency  Party
Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal Amritsar AAP
Anil Joshi Amritsar SAD
Vishal Sidhu Amritsar BSP
Prem Singh Chandumajra Anandpur Sahib SAD
Vijay Inder Singla Anandpur Sahib Congress
Jasvir Singh Anandpur Sahib BSP
Gurmeet Singh Khuddiyan Bathinda AAP
Jeet Mohinder Singh Bathinda Congress
Lakha Sidhana Bathinda SAD (Amritsar)
Gurmeet Singh Sodhi Firozpur BJP
Nardev Singh Firozpur SAD
Surinder Kamboj Firozpur BSP
Gurcharan Singh Firozpur SAD (Amritsar)
Gurinder Singh Gurdaspur SAD (Amritsar)
Dr. Daljit Singh Cheema Gurdaspur SAD
Pawan Kumar Tinu Jalandhar AAP
Sarabjit Singh Jalandhar SAD (Amritsar)
Balwinder Singh Jalandhar  BSP
Kulbir Singh Zira Khadoor Sahib Congress
Laljit Singh Bhullar Khadoor Sahib AAP
Ravneet Bittu Ludhiana BJP
Ranjit Singh Ludhiana SAD
Amritpal Singh Ludhiana SAD (Amritsar)
Dr. Balbir Singh Patiala AAP
N.K. Sharma Patiala SAD
Arvind Khanna Sangrur BJP
Simranjit Singh Mann Sangrur SAD (Amritsar)
Gurmeet Meet Hayer Sangrur AAP

While the list has the main candidates most likely to contest elections, the total number of candidates with criminal cases includes the leaders fighting independently. While SAD and AAP have most number of candidates with criminal cases, BJP and Congress are at the last spot.

On Monday, Chief Electoral Officer revealed that 29 nominations from Gurdaspur, 20 in Khadoor Sahib, 21 in Amritsar, 10 in Jalandhar, 19 in Anandpur Sahib, 8 in Hoshiarpur, 19 in Ludhiana, 16 in Sangrur, 21 in Patiala, 18 in Firozpur, 6 in Fatehgarh Sahib and 8 in Faridkot were filed.