New Delhi: On Thursday, The Rajya Sabha was adjourned for the day after opposition created brawl in the House over their respective demands, granting special status to Andhra Pradesh being one of them. Soon after spreading papers on the table, the AIADMK, TDP and YSR Congress members entered into the Well and started sloganeering for their demands.

   The AIADMK members were shouting slogans against construction of dams across Cauvery region while the TDP and YSR Congress members demanding special category status for Andhra Pradesh. The opposition members from Uttar Pradesh, including Congress, Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party, were protesting from their seats over deteriorating law and order situation in the state. They also raked up issue of Bulandshahr violence in which a police official was killed, allegedly by right wing activists over cow slaughtering.

    Earlier, the House paid tribute to its former members --- N Rajangam and Jai Narain Nishad. Rajangam, who represented Tamil Nadu in the House, died on December 23 while Nishad, who represented Bihar, had died on December 24.

You Might Also Like

Editors Choice