New Delhi, Dec 31: Union Minister of State (I/C) for Housing and Urban Affairs Hardeep Singh Puri inaugurated Lajpat Nagar-Mayur Vihar Pocket 1 section of Delhi Metro was inaugurated , on Monday, along with Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia.

The ceremony took place at Metro Bhawan auditorium at 1100 hrs from where Mr. Puri and Mr. Sisodia formally flagged off the new section.

Passenger services will commence on the 9.7 km stretch between Lajpat Nagar and Mayur Vihar Pocket 1 on the 59 km long Majlis Park - Shiv Vihar corridor (Line 7) of Phase-III, also known as the Pink Line, from 1600 hrs.

This 9.7 km stretch, which will be a continuation of the presently operational Majlis Park, Lajpat Nagar section, will be a major boon for the commuters of prominent areas like Ashram, Mayur Vihar etc.

The Hazrat Nizamuddin Metro station on this stretch will connect the Hazrat Nizamuddin Railway station as well as the Inter State Bus Terminal at Sarai Kale Khan.

This section from Lajpat Nagar to Mayur Vihar Pocket-1 consists of 5 stations--Vinoba Puri, Ashram, Hazrat Nizamuddin, Mayur Vihar 1 and Mayur Vihar Pocket 1.

Out of this five stations, Mayur Vihar-1 and Mayur Vihar Pocket-1 are the elevated stations and rest three stations are underground.

This section has one interchange Mayur Vihar -1. The facility of interchange of Metro trains between Line 7 and Line 3/4 is available through this station.

Trains will operate between Majlis Park and Mayur Vihar Pocket 1 at a peak hour frequency of 5 minutes 12 seconds. During the non peak hours, the frequency will be 5 minutes and 45 seconds. A total 29 trains will be operational on this line.

Phase 3 network of Delhi Metro after the opening of Lajpat Nagar, Mayur Vihar Pocket-1 section has become 137 kms (136.7 kms).

With the opening of this section, the Delhi Metro network has become 327 kilometres long with 236 Metro stations.

With the inauguration of this section, Delhi Metro has opened over 90 kilometres of new lines this year. All the major corridors under Delhi Metro's Phase 3 within the city of Delhi have now been opened.


You Might Also Like

Editors Choice