The opposition parties have decided to corner the government over the politically sensitive triple talaq bill in the Rajya Sabha today. The Congress, Samajwadi Party (SP) and TRS are planning to stage a walkout in protest.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress issued whips to their MPs to be present in Parliament today as the triple talaq bill hich seeks to criminalise the practice of instant divorce among Muslims is all set to be tabled in the Rajya Sabha.

Having a minority in the Upper House, the BJP is likely to face a lot of difficulties in getting the bill passed. The Congress has already made it clear that it will not allow the passage of the proposed bill in its current form.

The Congress, AIADMK, and Sharad Pawar-led Nationalist Congress Party have vehemently opposed the bill in the Lower House. In addition, Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress (TMC) and Naveen Patnaik's Biju Janata Dal (BJD) are of the opinion that the bill brings a criminal angle to a legislation on civil matters.

The parties, which are currently meeting to chalk out a strategy for the House, have demanded that the bill be referred to a select committee for review before it is passed.

You Might Also Like

Editors Choice