True Scoop Analysis: Know the one-on-one political party battles brewing in constituencies ahead of Punjab LS Polls

The Lok Sabha Elections in Punjab will take place on 1st June and results will be announced on 4th June.

Lok Sabha Elections, Lok Sabha Elections 2024, Punjab Lok Sabha Elections, Major Fights in Punjab Lok Sabha Elections, Punjab Candidates Lok Sabha Elections, Duo battles in Punjab Constituencies, Major Fights In Punjab Lok Sabha Elections, Lok Sabha Election 2024, Punjab- True Scoop

Only 2 days are remaining to Lok Sabha Elections 2024 voting in Punjab. The LS Polls in Punjab will take place on 1st June and results will be announced on 4th June. The state will be witnessing four-cornered elections after quite a long time. This is after 21 years that BJP has come in elections without any alliance. For the unversed, it was in 1997 that the BJP formed an alliance with SAD and till 2019 they contested elections together. Post 2019, it is for the first time that BJP and SAD will be contesting solo in an assembly election. All four major political parties namely AAP, BJP, Congress and SAD will be contesting without any alliance.

Also, Punjab will witness one on one fight between major political parties in various constituencies. Also, there are two constituencies where the fight is between the Independent Party vs all other political parties. Here is a list of constituencies of Punjab and which two major parties will be going against each other.

  • Congress vs AAP
Constituency  Congress Candidate  AAP Candidate 
Fatehgarh Sahib Amar Singh Gurpreet Singh 
Ludhiana  Amrinder Singh Raja Warring  Ashok Prashar Pappi
Amritsar  Gurjeet Singh Aujla  Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal 


  • Congress vs BJP
Constituency  Congress Candidate  BJP Candidate 
Patiala Dharamvir Gandhi Preneet Kaur 
Jalandhar Charanjit Singh Channi Sushil Rinku 
Gurdaspur  Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa  Dinesh Singh Babbu
  • BJP vs AAP
Constituency  BJP Candidate  AAP Candidate 
Faridkot  Hans Raj Hans Karamjit Anmol
Hoshiarpur  Anita Som Prakash 

Dr. Rajkumar Chabbewal

  • Congress vs SAD
Constituency  Congress Candidate SAD Candidate 
Firozpur  Sher Singh Ghubaya 

Nardev Singh Bobby Man

  • SAD vs AAP
Constituency  AAP Candidate SAD Candidate 
Bathinda  Gurmeet Singh  Harsimrat Kaur Badal
  • Political Party vs AAP
Constituency  Political Party Candidate AAP Candidate 
Khadoor Sahib  Amritpal Singh (Independent) Laljit Singh Bhullar (AAP)
Sangrur  Simranjit Mann ( SAD Amritsar) Meet Hayer (AAP)


However, there are certain constituencies where the dynamics are changing a lot. These seats include Ludhiana, Faridkot, Amritsar and Patiala.  Recently, just 2 days before Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Congress President and Ludhiana Lok Sabha Candidate Amrinder Singh Raja Warring issued a statement saying that vote for whichever party you want to. He added that the main aim is not to win but to defeat PM Modi. There are chances that in constituencies where the BJP is likely to overpower AAP and Congress, votes might get shifted. Congress might get their votes shifted for AAP to make BJP lose. Congress and AAP might have a plan to make INDIA alliance win in Punjab with a 13/0 score. 

Similarly, during his visit to Punjab, PM Modi took a dig at all political parties except Shiromani Akali Dal. There are chances that the BJP might shift their Bathinda vote bank towards SAD i.e. in favour of Harsimrat Kaur Badal. Whereas in Hoshiarpur, Jalandhar, Gurdaspur and Ludhiana, SAD might urge its voters to vote in favour of BJP. Also, there are certain deras in Punjab including Sacha Sauda that have quite an influence in Punjab. Their votes might also shift towards BJP at the end.