Why was Anurag Thakur dropped from Modi Cabinet 3.0 for JP Nadda? Here are the likely reasons

Anurag Thakur was replaced by JP Nadda on Union Cabinet of Ministers from the Himachal quota.

Lok Sabha Election 2024, India, Trending, Anurag Thakur, JP Nadda, Modi Cabinet 3.0, Anurag Thakur Modi Cabinet, Anurag Thakur Cabinet, JP Nadda Cabinet news, India Parliament, India Parliamentary elections 2024, India general elections 2024- True Scoop

Hamirpur MP Anurag Thakur, who handled the Sports, Youth Affairs and Information and Broadcasting Ministry in Prime Minister Narendra Modi's NDA-2 government, did not get a place in the Union Cabinet this time. The 5-time MP was considered a certain choice for the cabinet this time too. However, it is being said that due to an internal report, Jagat Prakash Nadda was included in the cabinet in place of Anurag from Himachal quota.

The BJP's decision is no less than a big shock for Anurag Thakur's father, former Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal. In the year 2010, JP Nadda resigned from the post of Forest Minister in the state government due to differences with Dhumal. Now, due to Nadda, Dhumal's son Anurag Thakur could not get a place in the cabinet.

There are a total of 4 Lok Sabha seats in Himachal. Being a small state, it is not possible to make 2 ministers from here. Another big reason is that due to BJP not getting full majority, a coalition government has been formed this time. For this reason, the party also has to take care of the allied parties.

Here are two likely reasons for which Anurag Thakur was dropped from the Union Cabinet of Ministers:

1. Defeat in assembly by-election 

Party sources say that the opposing faction of Prem Kumar Dhumal and son Anurag has submitted a report to the party high command, in which Anurag has been blamed for the defeat of BJP in Sujanpur, Kutlehar and Gagret assembly by-elections falling in Hamirpur parliamentary constituency.

A faction of BJP is blaming the Dhumal family for the party's defeat, especially in Kutlehar and Sujanpur assembly, because in Sujanpur in the year 2017, Prem Kumar Dhumal was defeated by Rajendra Rana. This time Congress rebel Rajendra Rana was given a ticket by BJP and he lost the election. Rajendra Rana has lost the election to Congress' Captain Ranjit Singh Rana, who is called Hanuman of Dhumal.

Congress rebel Devendra Kumar Bhutto also contested the Kutlehar seat on a BJP ticket and lost. On this seat, the future of Dhumal's close aide and BJP's veteran former minister Virendra Kanwar is at stake. Therefore, questions are being raised on the Dhumal family for the defeat on these two seats.

2. Discussion of responsibility in the organization 

Another reason for Anurag Thakur not becoming a minister is that he is likely to receive responsibility of the organization. JP Nadda's second term as national president is ending on June 30. In such a situation, there is discussion that there will be a major reshuffle in the organization. There is reportedly a discussion in the party to make Anurag Thakur the national general secretary.