Leading wicket-takers in every T20 World Cup


Umar Gul (2007)

Pakistan's Umar Gul finished with 13 wickets in the T20 WC 2007, one more than Stuart Clark, Shahid Afridi and RP Singh. He averaged 11.92 with the ball and conceded runs at an impressive economy rate of 5.60.

Umar Gul (2009)

For the second time in a row, Pakistan's Umar Gul led the wickets chart at the T20 World Cup, taking 13 wickets at an average of 12.15 and an economy rate of 6.44.

Dirk Nannes (2010)

A key part of Australia’s bowling attack in the Caribbean Islands in T20 WC 2010, Dirk Nannes finished as the leading wicket-taker, taking 14 wickets at an average of 13.07 and an economy rate of just over seven.

Ajantha Mendis (2012)

With 15 wickets in six matches in the tournament, Ajantha Mendis set the international stage of fire, but could not finish the T20 World Cup 2012 with a title win despite his stellar showing.

Imran Tahir, Ahsan Malik (2014)

South Africa’s Imran Tahir and Netherlands’ Ahsan Malik shared the top honours for bowlers at the T20 World Cup in 2014, taking 12 wickets apiece

Mohammad Nabi (2016)

Afghanistan’s spinners made a mighty impression at the T20 World Cup 2016 with Nabi and Rashid Khan finishing at the top of the wicket-takers’ chart. Nabi took 12 wickets, while Rashid took 11

Wanindu Hasaranga (2021)

With 16 wickets in 8 matches at the T20 World Cup 2021, Wanindu Hasaranga stole the show with the ball in UAE.