Top 8 highest goal scorers in a single edition of the FIFA WC


Just Fontaine

The legendary Frenchman Just Fontaine went on to script history way back in 1958 when Sweden hosted the World Cup scoring unbelievable 13 goals which is to date still the most goals in a WC edition.

Sandor Kocsis

The Hungarian goal machine Sandor Kocsis went on to net 11 times in the 1954 edition of the WC when the rivals Switzerland hosted.

Gerd Muller

Gerd Muller has gazillion credits to his fame this is just an addition to it when he won the golden boot honor back in 1970 scoring 10 goals for West Germany.


Portuguese Eusebio was the showstopper back in 1966 when the host England lifted the World Cup he went on to score 9 goals and earned the prestigious award for his fame.


Home lad Ademir in the 1950 WC earned all love and honor when he helped his Brazilian side with 8 goals in the entire campaign.

Ronaldo Nazario

Arguably one of the greatest strikers of the game of all time Ronaldo Nazario is also on the list with 8 goals in 2002 when he helped the Brazilian team to lift the WC shortly after 8 years.

Grzegorz Lato and Leonidas

The Polish Grzegorz Lato and yet another Brazilian, Leonidas both have 7 goals to their name from the 1974 and 1938 editions of the game respectively.

Harry Kane and James Rodriguez

8 editions of the WC out of 21 to date, the golden boot winner has scored 6 goals, however, mentioning the latest England captain Harry Kane, and Colombian James Rodriguez did it in the 2018 and 2014 editions.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi

Ronaldo and Messi to greatest names of football are yet to make a cut into the list, now into the last dance can they help their sides achieve the biggest goal of their careers, by scoring big and obviously more?