Jalandhar By-election result: Sushil Rinku stretches lead by 52081 votes; Congress' Karamjit Kaur trailing

If Sushil Rinku wins Jalandhar Lok Sabha Byelection 2023, the AAP will break the Congress stronghold as its candidate had not lost the constituency since 2004.

Jalandhar-Byelection-result Jalandhar-Byelection-result-Sushil-Rinku Jalandhar-Byelection-result-2023-Updates

Ever since the counting of votes for the Jalandhar Byelection began, Aam Aadami Party's Sushil Rinku maintained a healthy lead and kept his party ahead. At first, there was neck to neck fight between Sushil Rinku and Congress' Karamjit Kaur, it was the AAP who later went on to stretch its lead. Sushil Rinku is leading by 52081 votes as he got a total of 273431 votes making the vote percentage of the party- 33.99. On the other hand, Karamjit Kaur got a total of 221350 votes (while writing) with Congress getting a vote percentage of 27.51 as per the Election Commission.

BJP's Inder Iqbal Singh Atwal got a total of 129509 votes, and SAD's Sukhwinder Sukhi got a total vote of 138499. Notably, SAB and BSP have joined hands for the Jalandhar Lok Sabha Byelection. Notably, the voting for the Jalandhar Byelection 2023 took place on May 10, with a total voter turnout of 54.70 percent.

Jalandhar Byelection Results 2023: AAP on the verge to break Congress' stronghold; Sushil Rinku leading by 42,416 votes

Notably, if Sushil Rinku maintains his lead and goes on to win the lone seat, the AAP will break the Congress stronghold as its candidate had not lost the Jalandhar constituency since 2004. Congress had declared Karamjit Kaur as its official candidate for the upcoming By-polls. Karamjit Kaur is the wife of the late Santokh Singh Chaudhary who was previously the MP of Jalandhar constituency from 2014. Notably, it was the death of MP Chaudhary during Rahul Gandhi's Bharat Jodo Yatra which opened doors for the Jalandhar By-Election 2023.