Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau's gamble to seek a majority government by calling a snap election two years early has not paid off well despite 17 Indo-Canadians were elected as MPs.

The country went on for polls on Monday where Trudeau's ruling Liberal Party again ended up short by 14 seats. The House of Commons has 338 seats for which the Liberal could only reach the 170 mark. 

Punjabi origin Jagmeet Singh-led New Democratic Party (NDP) will go to hold the balance of power in the Canadian parliament as it increased its tally from 24 to 27.  

Trudeau's major opponent Conservative Party ended up scoring a tally of 122 seats one up from the dissolved House.

Among the 17 Indo-Canadian winners who showed a strong performance are Jagmeet Singh, former Minister Tim Uppal and three are current Cabinet Ministers Harjit Singh Sajjan, Bardish Chagger and Anita Anand.

Defence Minister Harjit Singh Sajjan has again won from Vancouver South by defeating Sukhbir Gill of the Conservative Party. 

Chagger, Minister of Diversity, too has been able to retain her Waterloo seat as did Public Service Minister Anand retained her Oakville seat. 

NDP leader Jagmeet Singh also secured his Burnaby South seat in British Columbia. 

Three-time Liberal Party MP Sukh Dhaliwal again settled with his Surrey-Newton seat in British Columbia by beating fellow associate Punjabi Avneet Johal of the NDP.

Sonia Andhi of the NDP was defeated by two-time Liberal Party MP Randeep Singh Sarai also retained the Surrey Centre seat. 

In Quebec, the sitting Indo-Canadian Anju Dhillon retained her Dorval, Lachine LaSalle seat.

In Alberta, Jasraj Singh Hallan preserved the Calgary Forest Lawn seat, however, his fellow Conservative MP Jag Sahota lost the seat to fellow Sikh George Chahal of the Liberal Party.

With retaining the Edmonton Mill Woods seat, Uppal has been able to fetch a place for the Conservative party. He is the brother-in-law of Congress MLA from Jalandhar Cantt, Pargat Singh.

While in Ontario, Brampton - the city Punjabi dominated city has re-elected all the four standing Indo-Canadian MPs Maninder Sidhu, Ruby Sahota, Sonia Sidhu and Kamal Khera against fellow Indo-Canadians Naval Bajaj, Medha Joshi, Ramandeep Brar and Gurprit Gill, respectively. 

All the winning candidates belong to Trudeau's Liberal Party.

Chandra Arya too was able to maintain his Napean seat in Ontario.

Lawyer Iqwinder Gaheer, who won the Mississauga-Malton seat for the Liberal Party, will be one of the youngest MPs to represent its province in the House of Commons in Ottawa.

Sitting Conservative Party MP Bob Saroya was another popular Indo-Canadian face who lost in Monday elections. 

You Might Also Like