Prime Minister Narendra Modi Friday announced that his government would repeal the three farm laws passed by Parliament a year ago, which has led to massive protests by farmer's unions in several states. The procedure to roll back the laws would take place during the winter session of Parliament, which begins next week, the Prime Minister informed.

In an address to the nation on Guru Nanak Jayanti, PM Modi said, “We worked to provide farmers with seeds at reasonable rates and facilities like micro-irrigation, 22 crore soil health cards. Such factors have contributed to increased agricultural production. However, we failed to make them understand the benefits of the new laws and as such, we have decided to roll them back.”

Also Read: Centre is responsible for 700 farmer deaths: Farm leader Rajewal

Farmers from Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, and other states have been camping at Delhi’s borders since November 2020 in protest against the three legislations, the Farmers’ Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Act, 2020, Essential Commodities (Amendment) Act, 2020, and Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement on Price Assurance and Farm Services Act, 2020. The protests have continued for over a year as deliberations between the government and farmer's unions failed.

You Might Also Like