On Sunday, Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee won the Bhabanipur bypoll with a record margin of 58,832 votes over her BJP rival. After claiming victory, West Bengal CM said, “It is a victory against the conspiracy that was hatched to defeat me from Nandigram. I thank the people of Bhabanipur for giving me such a huge mandate.”

She further said, “What is most heart-warming is, I have not lost in a single ward in the constituency. The last time, I had trailed in a couple of wards. There were a lot of conspiracies against us in the April elections. We are grateful we won... I lost in Nandigram but the matter is in court.” 

Also Read: Know all about world’s largest temple being developed in West Bengal

Meanwhile, Priyanka Tirbewal said that the reason behind her defeat is “fake voters.” She was quoted saying, “If people were allowed to vote, the result would have been different. Even I got hold of fake voters on the polling day. In several booths, polls were rigged. But I will admit that our organisation was weak in Bhabanipur. We have to improve this.”

TMC is also leading at two other constituencies - Jangipur and Samserganj, both in the Murshidabad district. 

TMC supremo was fighting for the seat of Bhabanipur, to retain her position as the Chief Minister of West Bengal. 

Tight security arrangements have been made in all the counting centres of the state. Altogether 24 companies of central forces have been deployed at the counting centres, and the entire area has been put under CCTV surveillance. Eight CCTV cameras have been fitted at the EVM strong room.

Also Read: Explained: Who is Priyanka Tibrewal, who may bring “Good News” for BJP in Bengal polls?

This time, Mamata Banerjee has broken her own record as in 2016, she won by more than 26 thousand votes and this time she won by 58 thousand votes. She said, “This is my third victory from Bhabanipur. In 2011, I won the bypoll by a margin of over 54 thousand votes. In the 2016 Assembly polls, I had won by a margin of over 26 thousand votes. This time the margin has gone over 58 thousand votes. So, I have broken my own record.”

You Might Also Like