As many as 43 new ministers will take oath today as Prime Minister Narendra Modi expands his cabinet. PM’s new cabinet will be one of the most inclusive with a considerable representation of SC, ST members.

As per the sources, there will be 12 members from the SC community including two in the cabinet and eight from ST out of which three will be in the cabinet. Post-expansion, Modi's government will have about 27 OBC leaders and of these five will be in the cabinet.

In the cabinet reshuffle, there will be several new entrants along with the existing minister who will be reassigned. The reshuffle comes as the Modi administration was heavily criticized over the handling of second wave of coronavirus pandemic.

Many top ministers including Health Minister Harsh Vardhan, were renounced. Where education and labor ministries are also expected to change, it is unlikely that the ‘big four’ ministers for finance, foreign affairs, home minister and defense will change.

As per government sources, Prime Minster intended to include younger members of his party to be ministers. PM also aimed at giving greater representation to women and backward classes which is a notable step ahead of major state elections starting with UP.

Also Read: Modi cabinet expansion: Dr Harsha Vardhan, Babul Supriyo, leaders who quit ministry ahead of big revamp

Due to coronavirus risk, a small ceremony with fewer guests will be held in Rashtrapati Bhavan at 6 pm on Wednesday. Here’s a list of all 43 ministers to be sworn in today.

  1. Narayan Rane
  2. Sarbananda Sonowal
  3. Dr. Virendra Kumar
  4. Jyotiraditya M Scindia
  5. Ramchandra Prasad Singh
  6. Ashwini Vaishnaw
  7. Pashupati Paras
  8. Kiren Rijiju
  9. Raj Kumar Singh
  10. Hardeep Singh Puri
  11. Mansukh Mandaviya
  12. Bhupender Yadav
  13. Parshottam Rupala
  14. G. Kishan Reddy
  15. Anurag Singh Thakur
  16. Pankaj Choudhary
  17. Anupriya Singh Patel
  18. Dr. Satya Pal Singh Baghel
  19. Rajeev Chandrasekhar
  20. Shobha Karandlaje
  21. Bhanu Pratap Singh Verma
  22. Darshana Vikram Jardosh
  23. Meenakshi Lekhi
  24. Annapurna Devi
  25. A. Narayanaswamy
  26. Kaushal Kishore
  27. Ajay Bhatt
  28. B. L. Verma
  29. Ajay Kumar
  30. Chauhan Devusinh
  31. Bhagwanth Khuba
  32. Kapil Moreshwar Patil
  33. Pratima Bhoumik
  34. Dr. Subhas Sarkar
  35. Dr. Bhagwat Kishanrao Karad
  36. Dr. Rajkumar Ranjan Singh
  37. Dr. Bharati Pravin Pawar
  38. Bishweswar Tudu
  39. Shantanu Thakur
  40. Dr. Munjapara Mahendrabhai
  41. John Barla
  42. Dr. L. Murugan
  43. Nisith Pramanik

You Might Also Like