Results 2021 Wrap-up: TMC Sweeps Bengal, DMK logs historic win in TN, LDF Kerala, BJP retains Assam

Massive setback for Congress as it loses Assam, Kerala, Puducherry

The results of the legislative assemblies of Tamil Nadu, Kerala, West Bengal, Assal and the union territory of Puducherry are finally out. It was for the first time in the history of the country that polls were held amid pandemic. The second wave of the covid has disrupted lives and people are running hither and thither for oxygen and medicines. However, despite such a situation in the country the polls were held and so as the counting today.

Number of seats in the four states and one UT are as follows: Assam (126), West Bengal (294 seats), Tamil Nadu (234 seats), Kerala (140 seats) and Puducherry (30 seats).

West Bengal Results: TMC -210, BJP - 80, Independent- 1, Rashtriya Secular Majlis Party-1 

Tamil Nadu Results: AIADMK - 69, BJP - 4, DMK - 132, Congress - 16, others- 13

Puducherry Results:  All India NR Congress- 10, BJP- 6, DMK-6, Independent- 6, INC- 2 

Kerala Election Results: The Left Democratic Front (LDF) breaks the state's four-decade-old trend of swinging between the communists and the Congress-led United Democratic Front.

Assam Election Results: BJP-58, INC-30, AIUDF-16, AGP-9, BPF-4, Other parties-9

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated West Bengal and Kerala Chief Ministers Mamata Banerjee and Pinarayi Vijayan. Modi also congratulated Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) Chief M.K. Stalin.

With the Trinamool Congress poised to cruise to a landslide victory in the Assembly elections to return to power for third time in a row, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Sunday dedicated the win to the people of West Bengal, besides taking a dig at both the Election Commission and the BJP.

Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, who broke a four-decade-old trend of one term governments in the state as he led his Left Democratic Front to a successive second stint in power, on Sunday dedicated the victory to the people and said they are humbled by the response of the people who supported them and this will be the booster to start work on building a resilient Kerala. He also tore into the Congress-ed opposition, the BJP as well as a section of the media.

Also Read: After leading a historic win for Mamata-led-TMC, Prashant Kishor to quit election management

With his DMK coasting towards victory in the 2021 Tamil Nadu assembly polls on its own as it leads in 119 seats and allies further beef up the tally, party President M.K. Stalin on Sunday said "a new chapter is set to begin in the organisation's history".


Get the latest update about india news online, check out more about BJP, Assam Results, latest india news & TMC Sweeps Bengal

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for more updates.