For Advertising Enquiries,Contact us at

On Wednesday, a tragic incident shook the whole nation. India lost 13 army officers in a military chopper crash in Tamil Nadu’s Coonoor. The country also lost its first and current Chief of Defence Staff General Bipin Rawat. According to reports, 14 passengers were on board the aircraft, including Bipin Rawat, his wife, the Defence Assistant, security commandos, and IAF pilots. Reportedly, the chopper was heading to the Wellington defence establishment.

Apart from CDS Rawat and his wife Madhulika Rawat, those killed in the chopper crash included Military Adviser to the Chief of Defence Staff Brig LS Lidder and staff officer Lt Col Harjinder Singh. 

Here is the full list of people who died in the crash:

1.  Brig LS Lidder

Brigadier LS Lidder was currently serving as the Defence Adviser to the Chief of Defence Staff. Tributes were poured for Brig LS Lidder from all quarters. 

2. Lt Col Harjinder Singh

Lt Col Harjinder Singh was serving as SO to the CDS. He was remembered as an “ever-smiling officer”.  

3. Havildar Satpal

Havildar Satpal Rai was the Personal Security Officer of Chief of Defence Staff. He hailed from Takdah, Darjeeling. 

4. Naik Gursewak Singh

Naik Gursewak Singh served as a Principal Staff Officer to the CDS, belonged to the 9 Para Special Forces. NK G Singh hailed from Punjab.

5. Naik Jitender Kumar

6. Lance Naik Vivek Kumar

7. Lance Naik Sai Teja

8. Wg Cdr PS Chauhan

9. Sqn Ldr K Singh

10. JWO Das

11. JWO Pradeep A

For Advertising Enquiries,Contact us at

You Might Also Like