World's richest cricket board- The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is all set to see a new President with Team India's former cricketer Sourav Ganguly not opting to contest the election yet again. Reportedly, Former India all-rounder and part of India’s 1983 World Cup-winning side, Roger Binny, is the top contender for the post of President in the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) elections. The 67-year-old former cricketer is likely to succeed the current BCCI Chief Sourav Ganguly, however, Jay Shah is expected to continue another tenure as the cricket body’s secretary. Now, it has been reported that Sourav Ganguly wanted to continue as BCCI chief, however, he was refused of it. Furthermore, Sourav Ganguly was offered the IPL Chairman post, however, the cricketer declined the offer.

As per the news portal The Hindu Business Line which quoted a source in the BCCI saying, "Sourav was offered IPL chairmanship but he politely declined the offer. His logic was that he cannot accept becoming head of a sub-committee in BCCI after heading the same institution." Furthermore, the report suggested that the 50-year-old former cricketer was keen to continue as BCCI President but he was told that there is no precedence of giving a second term to the Board President.

Women's Asia Cup: Spinners help India crush Thailand by nine wickets to seal pole position

The reports further stated that the BCCI is currently waiting for Ganguly to take a final call on the IPL Chairmanship, BCCI treasurer Arun Dhumal is now in line to become the next chairman of the Indian Premier League (IPL) Governing Council by replacing Brijesh Patel. It is pertinent to mention here that BCCI elections slated to take place on October 18 with Roger Binny is reportedly the top contender for the post of president in the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) elections. Binny has been nominated as a representative of the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA), while the current BCCI secretary Jay Shah is set to represent Gujarat Cricket Association and treasurer Arun Dhumal is nominated by the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association to represent the state body in the AGM.

Editors Choice