Good news for cricket fans, after a long gap of five years, the T20 World Cup is being organized once again. This on-field battle would start on October 17 (Sunday) and would be concluded on 14 November (Sunday). 

World Cup 2021 has been organized in Oman and UAE, but it will be hosted by India and BCCI. Earlier it was planned that the event would be organized in India, but due to the second wave of Coronavirus, it was shifted to UAE and Oman.

T20 World Cup 2021: Number of teams participating

Also Read: PVR bags right to screen T20 Men’s World Cup in 75 cinemas

This year, 16 teams would participate in the T20 World Cup. World Cup takes place in three stages. The included teams are – England (World Ranking 1), India (World Ranking 2), Pakistan (3), New Zealand (4), South Africa (5), Bangladesh (6), Australia (7), Afghanistan (8), West Indies (9), Sri Lanka (10), Ireland (12), Scotland (14), Papua New Guinea (15), Netherlands (17), Oman (18) and Namibia (19). 

The Super 12 stage sees two groups of six play a round-robin with the top two teams from each group progressing to the knock-out stage, consisting of two semi-finals and a final. The two groups of Super-12 and the teams involved are as follows –

Group 1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1 and B2.

Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, B1 and A2.

There will be 30 matches in Super-12. The top 2 teams from both groups will advance to the semi-finals. 

Also Read: Is MS Dhoni’s wife Sakshi Pregnant Again? Know if parents are expecting their second child

T20 World Cup 2021: The Points System

In both group stages the following points system will apply:

Win: Two points

Tie, no result or abandoned: One point

Loss or forfeit: Zero points  

T20 World Cup 2021: Will DRS be used? 

Decision Review System (DRS) will be used for the first time in T20 World Cup. Each team will be given two chances of DRS, per inning. 

Also Read: Ind vs Pak T20 World Cup 2021: Harbhajan Singh takes a dig at Shoaib Akhtar on MAUKA MAUKA add; WATCH

T20 World Cup: Important Dates

The tournament commences: 17 October

Round 1 finishes: 22 October

Super 12 stage commences: 23 October, Group 1 sides Australia and South Africa meeting in Abu Dhabi.

Group 2 begins the following day with a mouth-watering clash between India and Pakistan in Dubai. 

Super 12 stage concludes: 8 November

Semi-finals: 10 November and 11 November 

Finale: 14 November

T20 World Cup 2021: Is crowd allowed? 

Crowds will be capped at 70 percent for all games. “We are delighted to be welcoming fans back to international cricket in both Oman and the UAE to enjoy the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup,” ICC acting CEO Geoff Allardice said in a statement.

You Might Also Like