Latest Update: India – 21-1 in eight overs. 

Both teams are again set for the action against each other at the Green Park Stadium in Kanpur. The toss was flipped around 9 am and India won the toss, elected to bat first as there will be turn, variable bounce, the first and last hour of a day’s play will be crucial.

During toss, the Indian captain said, “Pitch looks really good. Generally, it slows down later on in Kanpur. We are all excited to play under the new coaching staff. I have personally enjoyed playing under Rahul Bhai. New Zealand is a quality side, we will not take them lightly.” 

“We would have batted first as well. Looking forward to this different challenge. We are going in with two spinners, two pacers, and a spinning all-rounder debut in Rachin Ravindra,” New Zealand captain was quoted saying. 

Also Read: Ind vs NZ: KL Rahul ruled out of first Test, Suryakumar replaces him in squad

IND vs NZ, Test 1, Day 1: Playing XI

India: Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (c), Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Will Young, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell (wk), Rachin Ravindra, Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel, Kyle Jamieson, William Somerville

Also Read: Bhuvneshwar Kumar And His Wife Nupur Nagar Blessed With A Baby Girl

IND vs NZ, Test 1, Day 1: Highlights

1st over (India: 3-0) – Mayank Aggarwal and Shubhman Gill opened for India. India made three runs in the first over. 

2nd over (India: 3-0) – The first maiden over of the match by Kyle Jamieson, who played his first Asian Test Match. 

3rd over (India: 5-0) – Gill was given OUT by the on-field umpire but he immediately took DRS and the decision was changed. 

4th over (India: 8-0) – Kyle Jamieson continues, three from the over. 

5th over (India: 15-0) – With the help of boundary, seven from the over. 

6th over (India: 17-0) – Magic of Kyle Jamieson still on, two from the over. 

7th over (India: 17-0) – Left-arm orthodox Ajaz Patel into the attack. Another maiden over.

You Might Also Like